[DLcygnet] A Surprisingly Common Prob... Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Lateral Puzzles » Solved Lateral Thinking Puzzles » Solved Puzzles - July 2005 » [DLcygnet] A Surprisingly Common Problem « Previous Next »

Lisa (Dlcygnet)
Posted on Wednesday, July 06, 2005 - 9:51 pm:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IPPrint Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Be kind - this is my first attempt! :-)

A Ranger is dropped off in the woods at 8 am for an advanced land navigation test. His instructions are to head due north for 20 kilometers to reach a small town. The test ends when he reaches the local Bar where the people adminstrating the test will be waiting. The Ranger is wearing comfortable clothes/hiking boots and carries his wallet, a watch, a canteen full of water, and a compass. Even going at a leisurely pace, the course is usually completed in under 4 or 5 hours. The Ranger never made it to the town; he was found and picked up near dusk and taken home. What went wrong?
John Morahan (Wunderland)
Posted on Wednesday, July 06, 2005 - 10:02 pm:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IPPrint Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Is he human?
Was he the victim of a prank?
Was he dropped off at the correct location?
Is the town actually there?
Is the bar actually there?
Does something interfere with the operation of the compass? something he is carrying? something he encounters while travelling?
Does he in fact travel due north?
Does he travel on foot?
Does he travel at a leisurely pace? faster? slower? not at all?
Is dusk less than 4-5 hours after 8 am?
Was he still alive when he was picked up?
Was he in good health?
Was he in a different bar? in a different town?
Lisa (Dlcygnet)
Posted on Wednesday, July 06, 2005 - 10:26 pm:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IPPrint Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)